It’s been a quiet week in Lake Woeisme

©cookinginmyheels.com

It’s been a quiet week in Lake Woe-is-me, where the woman is strong (usually) and the shoes are plentiful. I don’t know about you, but once the holidays are over and the new year is here, I get kind of blue. Maybe it’s the knowledge that retribution for the culinary bacchanal I’ve been living since Thanksgiving has now come due (if I ever want to fit into anything other than my fabulous heels.) Maybe it’s the letdown after the build up of the holidays. Or it could be that spring and its warmth and green are at least 3 long cold months away. Whatever the cause, the blue meanies can take hold and hang on with a vengeance. So naturally I was anticipating the onset of the woe-is-me’s as January unfurled before me. Imagine my surprise when it didn’t happen. Or rather hasn’t happened, yet. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to feel like crap. In fact, I spend a good deal of my time thinking of ways NOT to feel like crap. So my relatively bright mood lately has me completely flummoxed. What exactly did I do to deserve this? Who the hell do I think I am, feeling all cheerful-like? Something must be wrong. I’m supposed to be sad. I’m supposed to be anxious. I have no job yet, money is running out, and George Clooney STILL hasn’t called. Come ON! These are not the circumstances that foster a blithe spirit. I suppose I could attribute it to a distant brightening of my prospects, but the whole thing makes me very unsettled. Winter is for moping, I know that! Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to suffer through it and be cheerful. For now… 😉

When I’m blue, I seek out comfort food, preferably something soft, something creamy. It’s comforting, and quiet (no pesky crunching) and it makes me feel better when things around me have gone to pot. So in this uncomfortable burst of mysterious jollity, I decided to combine the comfort of pudding with the sunshiny-ness of citrus. This recipe for Orange Budino is just the stuff to keep the shine on your mood.

Budino is the Italian word for pudding. My recipe was adapted from one in Bon Appetit using Meyer lemons. Meyer lemons are in season in the winter, but tend to be a bit pricey and not available everywhere. I decided to use orange instead, and I think I like it even better.  I’ve also reduced the eggs in the original recipe, removing one of the yolks, and added just a touch of almond. The result is a light soufflé-type pudding with a meringue-like top and rich pudding bottom. I make this in 4 small ½ cup ramekins but you could easily double the recipe and make this in 6 larger ¾ cup ramekins for a more cheer-filled portion.

Orange Budino

Makes 4 ½-cup servings

  • 1 whole egg and 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup + 1 TBSP granulated sugar
  • 2 TBSP flour
  • 2 TBSP orange juice (from 1/2 a large orange)
  • 1 TBSP lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1 TBSP orange zest (from 1 large orange)
  • ¼ cup + 3 TBSP milk (I use 2% because that’s what I had- use whatever you prefer)
  • A pinch salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly butter or spray four ½ -cup custard cups or ramekins. Combine 1/4 cup sugar, egg yolk, flour, orange and lemon juices, and orange peel in large bowl; whisk until well blended. Whisk in milk.

Using electric mixer, beat egg whites and salt in medium bowl until frothy. Gradually add remaining 1 tablespoons sugar and beat until soft peaks form. Fold beaten egg whites into orange mixture in 2 additions. Divide mixture evenly among ramekins. Place cups in roasting pan and carefully pour enough hot water into pan to come halfway up the sides of the cups. Bake puddings until tops are golden and spring back when lightly touched, about 30 minutes. Remove cups from water. Serve warm or cold with whipped cream, if desired. Calories = approx 130 per serving.

Article first published as It’s Been a Quiet Week in Lake Woeisme on Technorati.
8 thoughts on “It’s been a quiet week in Lake Woeisme

  1. Wow – just reading the recipe made me think adirondack chair,a book and nice weather – I’m getting the ingredients in for this one – thanks

  2. I heart budini! This sounds wonderfula dn actually, very light – unlike many other budini I have had or made. Thanks for this and keep the sun in your heart shining! No need to get blue – not with good food like this around!

  3. The fact that there have been way more 50 degree days in January than 20 degree days might account for the lack of gloominess. I fear February. It has been a wonderful winter so far. The “shoe” (no pun intended) has to drop sometime!!! And when it does, it will be time for some red wine and chili!!!!(ANY suggested recipies???)

    • I hear you sister! As far as chili, I just took out my chocolate chicken chili recipe out to make for the weekend! Great minds think alike. The recipe is on my blog – check out the recipes link on the homepage xxx:-)

  4. Looks great! Good for you for not having the winter blues. For me, it’s been the constant rain and residual fatigue and cold from the hustle and bustle of the holidays. Fabulous heels btw!

    • Thanks! Winters are just hard to get thru sometimes- I find making dinner for friends (who are often in the same gloomy mood) helps a lot – once we are around the table the laughter isn’t too far behind!

Leave a Reply

