Mums, Mommies and Other Mothers

Mother-F………ABULOUSNESS! You didn’t think I was going to say something else, did you? Not that I haven’t used that particular turn of a phrase before (to great effect), but I’d never utter it in a tribute to the maternal set. There are too many wooden spoons out there standing at the ready. So with Mother’s Day upon us this weekend, I thought I’d take the opportunity to expound on all the wonders of this curious being. Whether wicked good, wicked bad, or just plain wicked, there’s nothing like a mom. What other creature would willingly wipe all sorts of disgusting substances from your (and their) person, sit beaming through recitals while you butcher otherwise lilting melodies with musical instruments, sew a giant sweet potato costume so you can be the BEST beta carotene food in the 2nd grade production of “Nutrition can be FUN!”, or still love you even when you have destroyed her window/rose bush/pearls/car? Mothers need not have given birth to you, be married, related by blood, raise you from infancy or even be a woman. They travel in all different kinds of shoes across this earth. And if you are lucky, really lucky, you may even have one you like as much as love, and can call friend.

I’ve never been a mom in the traditional sense. Like many of you, I’d thought I would at some point, but as life moved forward, motherhood didn’t follow.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t mothered. It’s just that I’ve been a mother of a different kind. The kind who comes into your life for a time short or long to nurture, care, feed and love you. One who’ll hand you tissues and hug you without letting go, then goad you out of your miserable mood until you laugh so hard you pee your pants. And one who’s not afraid to call your bluff because you’re worth so much more, and lovingly push you to suck it up and put your grownup panties on.

I’ve been blessed to have a wonderful mother (who is on her 3rd hanky by now), but more than that, I’ve had wonderful other mothers too. So to all of them, and all of you, I send a BIG thank you, and HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

©cookinginmyheels.com

While never having ‘birthed a baby’ myself, I do have two kids I consider mine – my terrific niece and nephew. My nephew Chris turned 21 this week, and of course birthday baked goods were required. This year I adapted my go-to brownie recipe with the addition of peanut butter swirls and salty peanuts. The result was a dense, sweet and salty treat. And since they have peanuts inside and on top, they’ll go nicely with my boy’s first “legal” beer.

 

Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

 

Makes one 13×9” pan full – how many you get out of that is up to you!

 

  • 4 oz. unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ancho chili powder (this is a mild chili – you could leave out, or if you wanted it spicier, substitute ¼ – ½ tsp cayenne)
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped salted peanuts, plus ½ cup peanut halves for top
  • 4-6 TBSP creamy peanut butter
  • Ganache for drizzling on top (see recipe below)

 

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 13×9-inch pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides. Spray foil with cooking spray. (This will make it easy to remove the cooled brownies from pan and cut up.)

 

Microwave chocolate, butter and instant espresso powder in large bowl on HIGH in 30-40 second intervals (stirring between) for 1 – 2 minutes or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Stir in sugar. Beat in the eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, add the dry ingredients and nuts, mix well. Add dry ingredients into the wet, mix until combined (don’t overmix – just until you see no more dry spots) and pour into prepared pan. Drop 4-6 TBSP of peanut butter around the top of the pan, then take a butter knife and drag it through the peanut butter, making swirls as you go for a marbled design. (Be careful not to put the tip of the knife all the way down to the bottom or you’ll tear the foil.)

 

BAKE 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out with fudgy crumbs. (Do not over bake.) Let cool a little while you make the ganache.

 

For ganache drizzle:

 

  • 3 ½ ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped (if using bittersweet, add 1/2 tsp honey)
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • A pinch (about 1/8 tsp) sea salt
  • ½ tsp strong coffee, espresso, or instant espresso powder

 

Melt the ingredients over double boiler or in the microwave (1 minute should do). Stir until completely incorporated and pours well off a large spoon. Drizzle ganache over the top of the warm brownies, and sprinkle the peanut halves on top.

 

Chill brownies thoroughly before cutting. Use the foil to remove the brownies from the pan and cut into squares. These can be made a day in advance. Store in refrigerator and take out 15-20 minutes before serving. Leftovers keep well in the freezer, but I have a feeling storing leftovers will not be necessary…

 

 

12 thoughts on “Mums, Mommies and Other Mothers

  1. Great stuff as always Karen. Mothers’ Day always brings me back to my beloved Omi who taught me so much about cooking and keeping house. How I miss her so, even after 7 years. Moms of all kinds…..I salute you!!

  2. These sound great. Love salted peanuts and chocolate
    Love the idea of there being many mothers in our lives. I certainly have different mums for different times in my life!

  3. My mom died about 16 years ago. I was very lucky to have asked her to write down her famous open faced fruit tart recipe before she passed away. I’ve since had it laminated and every summer I take the recipe out and see her hand writing and make the tart and think of her.

    • What a wonderful reminder of her. I have my Oma’s rolling pin, and though I have others, it’s still the only one I’ll use for her peach torte. Just knowing her hands used it brings her back into my kitchen every year.

      Have a wonderful Mother’s Day Chris!

  4. Mother’s Day is such an emotional day for me, as my mother died 24 years ago. But she lives in my kitchen daily, through her cookbooks, her advice, her smile, her love. But your recipe reminds me of Mark’s mother’s salty oatmeal cookies. Salt IS a food group, isn’t it? Happy Mother’s Day to you and your mother!

    • I’m certain your mom is there with you in your wonderful kitchen. My Oma often visits both me and my mom in ours. Especially when I’m making one of her recipes and suddenly I find myself speaking German! And absolutely salt is a food group! Sending happy mom’s day wishes to you and Mark – maybe he’ll bake you some of those salty oatmeal cookies! xo

Leave a Reply

