Where the day takes you…

DSC07748I’ve had a bit more time on my hands lately, so after I take care of the daily necessities, I’ve been trying to practice going where the day takes me. Sounds swell, right? It can be, if you are able to do it. That’s where my problem lay. While the whole om-shanty-shanty-crunchy-granola-live-in-the-moment groove is all around me out here, actually doing it takes a true effort. It’s not because I’m still in Gotham gal mode, that go Go GO switch constantly on. I’ve been fairly successful turning that thing off since moving westward. And it’s not because I’ve a ton of other things to do. Oh I have things, in fact I’m staring at a list of them right now. And now I’m ignoring it.

So that just leaves, well, the control thing. The assertion many of us have that without oneself controlling the universe it would spin chaotically out of kilter, and then all hell would certainly shake loose. Oh yeah…that. You’d think I’d have learned by now that, barring the sudden manifestation of some fate-changing super power, I really don’t control much and things just happen. And in light of yet another recent reminder, to not leap at the chance for random fun is just stupid.

As it happens, I was presented with two leap-worthy experiences lately, so instead of over thinking them, I decided to leap. Of course you know what happened. A distinct lack of awkward exchanges, Florida retirement condo pitches, or chloroform, duct tape and hefty bags (hey, I’ve seen those Lifetime movies… it could happen.)  Nope, none of that, nor regrets that I didn’t get to that list. Just fun. Fun, new friends, and if I’m lucky, more opportunities to see where the day takes me.

2014-08-04 13.52.24

Originally, this recipe was going to include huckleberries, but that day went in a different, and far more interesting direction. So instead, it features the damson plums that I collected on my morning hike, and could easily be adapted to other stone fruit or berries.

Inspired by a day of random acts of fun – Plum Cake with Lime.

Serves 8-10

For the cake:

  • 3/4 cup almond meal (or finely ground almonds)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 cup corn meal (medium to fine ground, not stone ground)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 stick (4 oz.) butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 TBSP sugar
  • Zest and Juice of a large lime (a little less than 1/4 cup juice)

For the fruit:

  • A heaping cup of chopped damson plums, other stone fruit, or berries
  • 2-3 TBSP sugar (depending upon the sweetness of the fruit)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350F. Cut a circle of parchment the size of the bottom of a 9″ cake pan or springform pan. Line the pan with the parchment, then spray paper and sides of pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

2014-08-04 14.23.12In a small bowl, toss the chopped plums (quarters is fine, doesn’t have to be finely chopped) with 2-3 TBSP of sugar and the cinnamon. Set aside for at least 20 minutes.

Whisk together the flours, baking soda and powder, salt and lime zest into a medium bowl. In another bowl, beat the eggs, then whisk in the sugar and lime juice. Add to the bowl with the dry ingredients. Pour over the melted butter and mix together until incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared pan. top with the plums and their accumulated juices. You don’t have to create a pattern, random is kind of the point of all of this, right?  Bake 30-40 minutes until a tester in center comes out clean. Let cool completely before removing from pan.

If you like what you read here, please help me spread the word. Meantime, I’d love you to join me on Facebook (please click the ‘like’ button), and check out what else is going on in my kitchen at cookinginmyheels.com Thanks! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Where the day takes you…

Leave a Reply

